On Monday, January 23, 2012, the American Library Association announced the 2012 Newbery, Caldecott, and Printz Award winners.

Congratulations to Jack Gantos for Dead End in Norvelt, which was awarded the 2012 Newbery Medal. The Newbery Medal is awarded every year to recognize the most distinguished American children’s book published in the previous year.  Librarians offer this prize to encourage good writing in children’s literature. Also recognized are Newbery Honor winners Thanhha Lai for Inside Out & Back Again and Eugene Yelchin for Breaking Stalin’s Nose.

The Caldecott Medal was awarded for great artwork in the best American picture book of the prior year. Congratulations to author-illustrator Chris Raschka for A Ball for Daisy. The 2012 Caldecott Honor winners are Blackout by John Rocco, Grandpa Green by Lane Smith and Me…Jane by Patrick McDonnell.

The Printz Award for excellence in Young Adult literature was awarded by the Young Adult Library Services Association to author John Corey Whaley for Where Things Come Back. The 2012 Printz Honor Books are Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler, The Returning by Christine Hinwood, Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey, and The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.

These books are owned (or on order) at libraries throughout the Delaware Valley, including the Free Library of Philadelphia, Bucks County Public Libraries,  Delaware County Library System, and the Montgomery County Library Consortium.