Shannon A Thompson

If you’re an avid reader, chances are you spend A LOT of your free time in bookstores (or on your Kindle, buying novels), and if you go to the bookstore A LOT, you probably have that one favorite section you always find yourself drawn to.

New Authors is the first section I go to.

Maybe it’s because I’m an author myself, hoping to debut in a bookstore one day in the future, or maybe it’s because I feel like that’s a great place to find the latest treasure, waiting to be found. Debut novels challenge me, forcing me to read outside of my normal spectrum and surprising me with new writing techniques. For whatever reason, reading debut novels never disappoints me, and today is the anniversary of one of my favorites:

Kjersti A. Skomsvold’s first novel, The Faster I Walk, the Smaller I Am, was gifted to me one…

View original post 139 more words

