pen

By Lena Van

If you are a young writer thinking of submitting a story to Philadelphia Stories Jr., don’t hesitate – DO IT!  But before you do, there are some general rules that I think all writers should remember:

  1. Develop your Characters and Plot – Make your characters 3-dimensional, make the plot plausible. I don’t want to spend too much time questioning how something like that can possibly happen or how so or so could make such a decision in this situation.
  2. Avoid clichés – I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read stories that sound like something straight out of a soap opera. I’m not saying that you CAN’T write about dying cancer patients or rebellious hippies – just do something to make it your own is all I’m asking for! As a fiction reader for Philadelphia Stories, I have to go through several pieces of writing and I prefer not to read stories that sound like something I’ve read or seen before.
  3. Proofread – PROOFREAD, PROOFREAD, PROOFREAD. Bad grammar and spelling errors only take away from what could have been a great story.  Not to mention, sending in a badly written story is disrespectful to the reader. But I’m sure, you already know that.
  4. Entertain me – Let’s face it – any writer can submit a well-written story. If you are really interested in making the cut, then aim to make your story as interesting and entertaining as possible. Write me a story that will excite me, that I don’t want to put down. After all, that’s the fun of being part of any editorial board!
